Losing race weight

Last weekend was hot and sunny, conditions that always kick my ass. In an effort to be comfortable, I put on shorts and a sports bra before taking off on an easy 10-miler. I looked in the mirror and negative thoughts started as soon as I laid eyes on my stomach.

“You can’t go out in public like that.”
“There’s no definition!”
“Eww. Too puffy.”
“Not tan enough.”

DCIM104GOPROG0394919.JPG
Post-marathon abs, in all their carbed-up, puffy, white glory.

After the high of a marathon fades, it’s normal to expend less energy. When that happens, even the most meticulous eater puts on a few pounds. It’s normal, and even healthy. *gasp*

It’s something even the elite and sub-elite deal with. These are my favorite blogs regarding this subject: Tina Muir and NYC Running Mama.

My amazing friend Jenn posted that morning on Instagram, and after reading her caption, I decided to hell with it. I was going to run in my sports bra, post-marathon stomach and all.

FullSizeRender
Love her.

Through training, I was running like a maniac, nailing my paces and averaging around 60 miles a week. I weighed myself every other day, but not for the normal reason. I monitored my weight closely to make sure I wasn’t losing too much weight. When the number dipped too low, I jacked up my calories, again and again.

Seeing muscle definition and sliding on your skinny jeans to have them fit perfectly is an addicting feeling. It’s a confidence booster and physical confirmation of how hard you’re training.

Now that my race is a month behind me, I’ve found I’m up about 3-4 pounds over race weight. I hate to say it, but it causes major anxiety. My spirit is not healed from the physical and emotionally exhausting race that was Boston, but yet, I found myself running 54 miles last week. I’d like to say it was because I love the run (and I do), but it was more because I love my abs.

This week, I’ve intentionally ran and even moved less in general. It’s Friday and I only have 15 miles under my belt. I’ll run this weekend, but I’m not going to stress about any numbers – my mileage, or the scale.

For today, I choose to appreciate how hard my body works, and try not to freak out about a silly number on a scale.

 

2 thoughts on “Losing race weight

  1. I can definitely relate to the 3-4 lb. causing anxiety! When you work hard to reach a goal of how you want to look or your clothes can fit, the slightest overage can really mess with your mind. But I love how you found the positive nugget. Putting in the hard work is truly something to proud of!

    Like

Leave a Reply

