Dear cell phone, we’re breaking up…

At work today, while scrolling through Facebook (my job requires it), I saw this blog: The Only Remedy for FOMO (fear of missing out) 

With coffee in one hand, phone in the other, all while replying to an email, I scrolled through it.

  • Saying yes when your heart says no? Check.
  • Scrolling endlessly through social media? *looks down at cell* Check.
  • Constantly checking phone? *see above* BIG check.
  • Sleeping less? Yes.
  • Compromising self-care? Unfortunately.
  • Rushing? Yep.
  • Choosing convenience over quality? *rips protein bar open* Nodding.
  • Feeling like you’re missing out on things? Yes.

It struck me – I am on my phone way too much, scrolling social media, not even looking for anything. I don’t even like Facebook. From the second I roll out of bed until my head hits my pillow at night, I am attached to my phone like it’s my life source. Texts, apps, browsing….

I need a break. It’s peak week for Boston prep: 63 miles. On face value, that’s not bad, but considering total time commitment, it’s a lot. Fueling, sleeping, mobility, strength, driving, showering…..All in, it’s quite a chunk of time, not to mention the accompanying mental and physical exhaustion.

IMG_8439
This is more time-consuming than it looks.

I need to be focused and refreshed to successfully navigate my week. If I added up all the “5 minutes here, 5 minutes there” cell  time, it would be an embarrassingly large number.

What could I do with all the time I mindlessly squander?

What instantly comes to mind:

  • Spend five minutes applying makeup in the morning
  • Do more yoga
  • Spend more time being present with my boyfriend at home
  • Pet and love on my dogs
  • Read a book
  • Journal
  • Cook/meal prep
  • Meditate
  • Clean
  • Blog
  • Take an epsom salt bath
  • I could just sit and do nothing, aka relax

The sheer amount of time I spend being “connected” changes my mindset. I’m hardly ever relaxed (unless I’m running, about mile 12 or so). Everything feels like an emergency, always go, go, go. I instantly respond to texts and notifications, being available 24/7.

I can’t remember the last time I had a meal with no interruptions – just me sitting at a table, enjoying food. This realization saddens me; It’s a big wake-up call.

Marathon training, especially peak week, is a naturally busy, exhausting time. Why am I making it harder on myself? My self-care is slipping. I’m not spending as much time on critical things as I should. This isn’t surprising, but I need to help myself more and cut out the crap, especially the special kind of crap that adds no value to my life. *looks over at cell phone*

I need an intervention.

I’m not exactly sure how it’s going to work, but I am committed to spending less time being “connected,” instead being present and living life, the one not obtained through a screen.

I want to come home from work and set my phone down, not picking it up again until I leave my house the following morning. I want to eat dinner with Derek and have an actual dinner – food, conversation, relaxation. No phones allowed.

I want to be able to just sit and BE without feeling like I need to be doing anything at all. My mind is constantly going the way it is. I don’t need to add fuel to that already-burning fire.

Parameters, which are bound to change to make this sustainable:

  • One hour of phone access per evening
  • When not in use, place phone in bedroom
  • Use an alarm clock (not my phone)
  • Turn “do not disturb” on my Garmin (it buzzes with every notification, instantly alerting me)
  • Possibly others I’m not thinking of now – I use my phone a lot…

I’ll notify my close family and friends that I’ll be doing this, so they don’t text or call and wonder if I’m dead. (Hi, mom!)

Tackling this makes me excited, even a bit nervous. I want to see what positivity I can add to my life. I know I can be a better girlfriend, dog mom, friend, daughter, employee, runner, human.

Don’t get me wrong. There’s nothing inherently wrong with technology and social media. Quite the opposite, in fact. I’ve gained a lot through both – ideas, people, connections. But I need to have a healthy balance between screen time and real life.

4 thoughts on “Dear cell phone, we’re breaking up…

Leave a Reply

