“So, what’s up with the socks?”

I get asked this question a lot. If you know me, you know I love knee-high socks, specifically compression socks. I rarely run without them. From 5- to 16-milers, I always sport a pair.

fullsizerender
See what I mean? Love.

Why compression?

Like all runners, my calf muscles work hard, so I tend to have calf fatigue. At least once a marathon training cycle, I’ll deal with a bout of anterior pain as well. I remember cutting runs short because my calves and shins would be on fire.

Years back, a running buddy suggested compression socks. I had tried everything else – rolling, stretching, massage, supplements, positive thoughts, crying fits of rage… Nothing worked. I was desperate, so off to my local sporting goods store I went.

I got there and realized the socks were $50. For that price, they had better come with a magic wand, I thought to myself. Begrudgingly, I purchased them and slid them on immediately, even sleeping in them. The next day, I cautiously went out for a run. To my surprise, the pain was gone.

Ever since that day, I’ve been hooked. I run every run in them. When I get into high miles during peak training, I sleep in them, too. They are one of the magic bullets that allow me to run 60-mile weeks without pain.

How do they work? Compression socks increase blood circulation and oxygen levels, leading to enhanced recovery and reduced muscle fatigue. They also reduce swelling.

Recently, Legend Compression Wear reached out and asked if I would be interested in being an ambassador for their company. They took the time to email, so I thought their company was probably legit. (We’ve all dealt with the shady Instagram messages from apparel companies, am I right?)

I checked out their website and liked the fact they are a small, growing company in North Carolina. The company was started by a medical professional, too, which I liked. I ordered a pair to try, knowing I’d have to love these things before I’d ever tell anyone else about them.

I was pleased when I opened the package. They are thick – in a good way – yet soft. The graduated compression gives my calves a nice hugged feeling. They felt supportive during my runs. I slept in them and woke up refreshed.

They also appear to be well-made. I’ve been disappointed in my other compression socks. Even after gentle care, meaning gentle wash and air dry, they are wearing badly and look pretty awful, not something you want after shelling out some money for them!

If you struggle with lower leg pain, I can almost guarantee compression socks will help you. I also know some nurses and servers who are on their feet all day that love the socks. I wear them on flights, too.

If you want to give compression socks a try, click here to get $15 off your purchase. I hope you enjoy the socks as much as I do!

9 thoughts on ““So, what’s up with the socks?”

  1. So I’ve been hesitant about wearing them to sleep, sometimes I will and I’ve tried to find information online if this is OK and mostly all I find is suggestions ‘not’ to do so. But when I do fall asleep in them I wake up feeling really refreshed in the legs and not fatigued. I also usually have a lot of ankle swelling late in the day so it helps with that. Have u been told it’s ok to wear at night or do u have more information on this? Are there any negative effects? I think the main one I’ve heard is more so with sleeves where the feet are exposed and still swell.

    Like

    1. Erika, I received a response from Legend Compression’s president and founder:
      “Clinically, graduated compression works best when vertical. When standing, sitting, walking, running. Gravity does have a role with blood circulation once socks push blood up legs to heart where it is oxygenated and than goes back to different parts of body including legs and feet. As kassondra mentions, it also helps with reducing swelling in the feet.

      Wearing graduated compression is usually not recommended while horizontal/laying down or sleeping as a way to get maximum benefit. They are not quite as effective laying down compared to upright.
      With that said, there is no harm wearing them while laying down or is there any adverse effects. The compression in the feet will still work and help with swelling and circulation but not at the same levels. Hence why not really recommended for laying down. If they work for her and her legs feel refreshed…than by all means she should continue if she wants. Different people have different experiences when wearing in bed.

      I will say the higher/firm compression is more effective when relaxed, hence why we sell the 20-30 mmHg Recovery socks (for post-ecercoise fatigue) and even suggest to athletes to get off there feet and relax….and also great for travel after a running or on plane to help achy feet and reduce swelling.

      For me, I wear occasionally our performance socks or other 15-20 mmHg socks while laying down…but usually take off after a few hours.”

      I hope this answers your question.

      Like

  2. Have you heard any info on whether it’s safe to sleep in them? I remember looking this up once cause I fell asleep in them, and most of what I found suggested not to do it. But I like it, and haven’t had any issues. Glad to see someone else is wearing to sleep! 🙂 Just curious if you found any research on this subject supporting or not supporting. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hi! Sorry for my delayed answer. I regularly wear mine to bed. I did a quick Google search and the most commonly found answer was to make sure you sleep in SOCKS and not sleeves. Let me reach out to Legend Compression and ask them for you. I’ll let you know what I find!

      Offhand, based on my own personal experience, I would say as long as you sleep in a sock and not a sleeve, and you have no medical conditions, you should be fine – BUT I am not a doctor.

      Like

Leave a Reply

