December 12 – 25 Training

I am officially through two weeks of training for Boston, following Hanson’s Marathon Method. The plan prepared me well for my last marathon and while challenging, it was fun, so I plan to follow it again.

snow
I spy a hole by my right toe.

 

The first two weeks are a gradual buildup, and I run more on off-season than these weeks call for, so I did my own thing. Beginning tomorrow, I will dial into the plan and follow it as prescribed.

Monday, 12/12
· Rest

Tuesday, 12/13
· 6.1 miles, 7:50 pace (around GMP pace)

Wednesday, 12/14
· 6 treadmill miles, 8:36 pace
·Planks: 3 minutes planking: regular and side, 2.5 minute hollow hold

Thursday, 12/15
· 3 x 12: squat, deadlift, hang power clean, bench, row, pull-ups, strict press, tricep dips, lunge
· 50: Russian twists, leg lifts

Friday, 12/16
· 7 miles, 8:10 pace

Saturday, 12/17
· 13.1 treadmill miles: 8 EZ at 8:49 pace, then 1 up, 3 at GMP 7:48 pace, 1.5 down

Sunday, 12/18
· 6 miles, 7:47 pace
· PiYo lower

Weekly Totals
38.2 miles
3 strength sessions

treadmill
Treadmill runs: a necessary evil.

 

Monday, 12/19
· 6 miles, 8:34 pace
· 3 x 12: squat, deadlift, hang clean, bench, row, pull-up, strict press, tricep dip, lunge
· 50: Russian twists, leg lifts

Tuesday, 12/20
· First speed work day of the training cycle!
· 1.5 up and 1.5 down
·12 x 400, 6:36 pace with 400 recoveries
·9 miles total

Wednesday, 12/21
·6 miles, 8:45 pace

Thursday, 12/22
·6 miles, 8:19 pace

Friday, 12/23
·6 miles, 8:40 pace
·PiYo upper & lower

Saturday, 12/24
·8 miles, 8:41 pace

Sunday, 12/25
·2.5 miles, 9:22 pace
·3 x 12: squat, deadlift, hang clean, bench, row, pull-up, strict press, tricep dip, lunge
· 50: Russian twists, leg lifts, ab mat sit-ups
· 3 minute planking: regular and side, 2.5 minutes hollow hold

Weekly Totals
43.5 miles
4 strength sessions

vacation
From a country road run in South Dakota. It was stunning.

 

From the 21st through the 24th, I was in South Dakota and managed to fit in some easy miles while visiting a friend. It always feels good to be somewhat active while on vacation and consuming way more sugar and alcohol than normal!

Dealing with the North Dakota winter has been touch and go. Some days are extremely chilly, think -20 with wind chill, and some aren’t so bad. When possible and safe, I am outside, but when it’s dangerously cold or I need to do speed work, I am inside on the treadmill. It’s not my favorite but it gets the job done.

I’m in a bit of disbelief that I’ll be starting week three of training tomorrow, but excited to be following a structured plan and see what kind of speed and strength gains I can make for Boston.

snow2
Current view from my living room. Blizzard number three of the year…

 

Leave a Reply

