Protein Fluff Recipe

When I started counting macros, meeting my protein requirement was challenging, especially as someone who doesn’t consume meat or any animal products, including eggs and dairy.

For the first time in my life, I tried protein powder. Let me tell you, it wasn’t a pleasant experience. Both the taste and texture were disgusting to me. Chalk city!

I hate the taste and “bro” aspect of protein shakes. I like to eat my calories/macros, not drink them. I stumbled upon a recipe on Instagram a long time ago and toyed with it until I found a consistency I love.

fullsizerender-6
A way of eating protein I can handle.

This recipe is great if you are macro poor (if you’re cutting) or simply need a tasty, enjoyable way to add extra protein to your diet.

Four easy steps to protein heaven:

1 . Throw 13 ice cubes into a quality food processor. The number can be modified, but 13 makes me smile and is a great consistency.

fullsizerender
Humble beginnings…(Don’t count – there’s not 13 cubes)

2. Pulverize the shit out of it until it no ice chunks remain.

img_6597
Wheee!

3. Scrape down the ice shavings with a spatula and add 1-2 scoops of your favorite protein. Two scoops makes a thicker “fluff.” One of my favorite vegan powders is vanilla bean by SAN Raw Fusion.

fullsizerender-1

4. Process and add water as needed so it blends. I use ¼ cup per scoop of protein added. The longer you blend, the more voluminous it becomes.

If desired, you can add 1/8 tsp of xanthan gum. This volumizes the recipe even more. Be careful though – some people’s stomachs are sensitive to this ingredient.

img_6602
Adds lots of volume, but proceed with caution!

That’s it! Ice, water, and protein powder, making it a low-calorie, high-protein treat. Put the fluff in a bowl and top as desired. Get as creative as your heart desires.

Fun toppings:

  • Crushed chocolate or chocolate chips
  • Crushed pretzels
  • Salted or raw nuts (cashews, sunflower seeds, almonds, etc.)
  • Sprinkles!
  • Cereal (some of my favorites are Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Fruit Loops, Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles)
  • Dried fruit (raisins, craisins, dates)
  • Fruit (strawberries, blueberries, banana coins, etc.)
  • Syrups (I use Walden Farms syrups: caramel, chocolate, and maple are my favorites)
  • Nut butter (peanut, almond, etc.) – melt it before topping for something extra fun and tasty!
  • Chia seeds
  • Coconut shavings
  • Chopped protein bar
fullsizerender-7
Variation using a banana in with the ice. Toppings include a chopped protein bar and chocolate and caramel Walden Farms syrups.

My latest favorite combo is crushed chocolate and pretzels, along with a generous sprinkling of sea salt. If you like salty and sweet, I’d highly suggest it.

fullsizerender-5
Crushed chocolate, pretzels, almonds, and sea salt

Another fun variation is to add a banana after step 2. Blend the banana then continue on. This adds a more dense texture to the recipe so it turns into a froyo-style consistency.

Warning: this recipe is extremely filling. If you find it too much to eat in one sitting, you can place into the freezer for a couple hours.

I have a bowl nearly every day; it helps me easily reach my protein needs and satisfies my sweet tooth.

I hope you enjoy this macro-friendly “trick” as much as I do. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Protein Fluff Recipe

Leave a Reply

