One week left till Boston training…

I only have one week of off-season left. Holy moly. I start training for Boston the week of December 12, filling me with equal parts excitement and anxiety.

Mother Nature decided to drop 24.5 inches of powder on us on Monday and Tuesday. It is absolutely beautiful, but debilitating for outdoor training.

fullsizerender
See what I mean? Beautiful.

img_6367

I am making an effort to focus on my core strength. I know it’s an area of improvement and it will help my running, especially when battling late-stage marathon fatigue.

I got a new pair of shoes this week. I’m currently in the Saucony ISO 2, which I love, but wanted to find another shoe specifically for long runs and possibly recovery efforts. I asked the shoe experts at Running Warehouse and they recommended a couple models. I settled on the Asics 33-M 2, mainly because I scored them on Amazon for $44. Can’t beat it! I have yet to try them but I plan to this coming weekend.

img_6407

A quick rundown of training for the week of November 28:
Monday: Rest
Tuesday: Negative split treadmill 10k @ 7:27/mile, 50: abmat sit-ups, air squats, side leg raises, 25: hand release push-ups, tricep kickbacks, weighted oblique raises, Russian twists, supermans, clamshells
Wednesday: 6 miles @ 8:38/mile, Fran, 50 abmat sit-ups, 20 leg raises
Thursday: Rest
Friday: 6.5 miles @ 8:52/mile, 50 abmat sit-ups, 3 x 12: squat, deadlift, power clean, bench, row, pull-ups, press, tricep dips
Saturday: 13.4 miles @ 8:57/mile, PiYo core, 50 abmat sit-ups
Sunday: 6 miles at 8:20/mile
Totals: 38 miles, 4 strength sessions

fullsizerender-4
Snow and ice and wind…

As I head into a season of heavy training, I intend to focus on my core and also improving my nutrition a bit. I’ve been eating a few too many Oreos and not enough greens lately, so I plan to get that in check.

Until next time, happy running.

Leave a Reply

